

Nominating Committee Minutes

Date: November 17, 2022

Time: 11:00 a.m.

Location: Council Chambers

7 Broadway Street West

Paris, ON

Present: Mayor Bailey, Councillors Miller, Peirce, Coleman, Howes

Staff: Bradley, Dyjach and Davis

Mayor Bailey in the Chair.

3. Approval of Agenda

Moved by Councillor Peirce Seconded by Councillor Howes

That the Nominating Committee agenda for November 17, 2022, be approved, with an additional item included under new business.

Carried

4. Declaration of Pecuniary Interests

As noted below.

5. Staff Reports

5.1 <u>RPT-0360-22, Council Representation / Appointments to Various Committees and</u> Boards

In response to questions, Michael Bradley, Chief Administrative Officer noted that a report on the Standing Committee structure and recommended changes will be forthcoming in the New Year.

Members noted the need to balance stability of Boards and Committees and provide opportunities to new members.

The Nominating Committee reviewed the necessary appointments and preferences of the members of the 2022-2026 Council.

Moved by Councillor Coleman Seconded by Councillor Peirce

That the following Council member appointments to the Standing Committees, Local Boards and Advisory Committees be forwarded to Council for consideration, it being determined that the appointment to South West Integrated Fibre Technology and the Grand River Conservation Authority would be voted on separately:

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Planning and Development Committee:

Mayor Bailey, Councillors Kyle, MacAlpine, Howes, Oakley, Bell, Peirce, Chambers, Miller, Coleman and Garneau.

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Policy Development and Strategic Direction Committee:

Mayor Bailey, Councillors Kyle, MacAlpine, Howes, Oakley, Bell, Peirce, Chambers, Miller, Coleman and Garneau.

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Administration & Operations Committee:

Mayor Bailey, Councillors Kyle, MacAlpine, Howes, Oakley, Bell, Peirce, Chambers, Miller, Coleman and Garneau.

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Brant Municipal Enterprises Board of Directors: Mayor Bailey, Councillors Bell and Peirce

That the following members of Council be appointed to the County of Brant Library Board of Directors: Mayor Bailey, Councillors Howes and Garneau

That the following members of Council be appointed to the County of Brant Police Services Board: Mayor Bailey, Councillor Peirce

That the Mayor be appointed as ex-officio to all County of Brant Advisory Committees.

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Accessibility Advisory Committee: Councillor Oakley

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Agricultural Advisory Committee: Councillors Coleman and Kyle

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Biggars' Lane Landfill Liaison Committee: Councillors Miller and Garneau, and that the Biggars' Lane Landfill Liaison Committee Terms of Reference be adjusted.

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Brant Heritage Committee: Councillors Garneau, Howes, and MacAlpine

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Cemetery Committee: Councillor Garneau

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Communities Improvement Plan Committee: Councillor Howes and Peirce That the following members of Council be appointed to the Tourism Advisory Committee: Councillors Kyle and Oakley

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Trees Conservation Committee: Councillors Chambers, Coleman, Garneau and Miller

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Sports Hall of Fame Ad Hoc Committee: Councillors Kyle and Peirce

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Cainsville Community Centre Fundraising Campaign Working Group: Mayor Bailey, Councillor Coleman

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Community Safety & Well-Being Committee: Councillor Kyle

That the following members of Council be appointed to the John Noble Home Committee of Management: Mayor Bailey, Councillors Bell, Coleman and MacAlpine

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Paramedic Services Committee: Mayor Bailey, Councillors Peirce and Miller

That the following members of Council be appointed to the City / County Liaison Committee: Mayor Bailey, Councillors Bell, Miller and Oakley

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Social Services Committee / Brant Brantford Local Housing Authority: Mayor Bailey, Councillors Bell, Howes, Miller, Chambers and Oakley

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Brantford and Area Sports Hall of Fame Induction Committee: Councillor Kyle

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Brant County Health Unit: Mayor Bailey and Councillor Bell

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Brantford Airport Board: Mayor Bailey

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Chamber of Commerce Brantford-Brant: Councillor Garneau

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Long Point Region Conservation Authority: Councillor Chambers

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Paris Business Improvement Area (BIA): Councilor Oakley

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Paris Chamber of Commerce: Councillor Bell

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Paris Museum and Historical Society: Councillor Howes

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Physician Recruitment: Mayor Bailey

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Rural Water Quality Program: Councillor Chambers

That the following members of Council be appointed to the South Central Ontario Region (SCOR): Mayor Bailey and Councillor Chambers

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Brant Waterways Foundation: Councillor MacAlpine

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Brant Condominium Corporations' Association: Councillor Bell

Carried

Councillor Miller declared a pecuniary interest on the Council appointment to the Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology board, as the Council appointee is paid an honorarium, and removed himself from the vote.

Moved by Councillor Coleman Seconded by Councillor Peirce

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology (SWIFT): Councillor Miller

Carried

Councillor Coleman and Councillor Miller declared a pecuniary interest on the Council appointment to the Grand River Conservation Authority as the Council appointee is paid an honorarium and removed themselves from the vote.

Moved by Councillor Howes Seconded by Councillor Peirce

That the following members of Council be appointed to the Grand River Conservation Authority: Councillors Coleman and Miller

Carried

6. New Business

Planning and Development Committee Chair Election- Councillor Miller

Councillor Miller discussed the desire to appoint the Planning and Development Committee Chair at the next Council meeting rather than at the first Planning and Development Committee meeting. In response to questions, Alysha Dyjach, Clerk discussed the procedural process of bringing a notice of motion.

7. Adjournment

<u> </u>			40 40	
Cammittaa	20101 Irnad	l at	17・16	n m
Committee	auloullicu	ıaı	12.10	v.III.

	Secretary